Diplo Reveals A Few Things About M.I.A New Record

23 Mar

M.I.A is gearing for what could be one of the biggest years of her career. The Sri Lanken beauty just signed Sleigh Bells and announced a bunch of festival dates. MTV.ca posted a small interview they did with Diplo during SWSW, which reveals some of what’s going on behind the scenes of the new M.I.A project. According to Diplo, the record will most likely drop in July, as appose to it’s original June 2010 release. Diplo made this statement to MTV News :

“[The album] is cool. I think that she’s just wrapping up the mixing and stuff. I was in New York on Thursday, before I came here, I was mixing down the last single for it,” Dip explained. “It’s a record I did for her that’s sort of … you can’t even [explain] what it would sound like. It’s sort of like an Animal Collective/ gospel/ giant-drum record. And she’s singing on it. I think you might expect some rap/club music, but nothing on there. It’s more of a heavy record. All kinds of different sounds. We did, like, a punk thing. … It’s weird.”

The album is still untitled, but we do have a lot to look forward too from the sounds of it.

Posted by : Max Mohenu

Leave a Reply

