New Music Week (June 16th, 2010)

16 Jun

Drake
Thank Me Later
Young Money/Cash Money Records
Rating : 8.5/10

Every few years, I become obsessed with a single hip hop artist. I’ve loved Jay-Z copiously while Nas aided me through high school and Kanye marked my middle years in university. Now it’s Drake’s time to shine. I don’t know how it happened but I am a near-die-hard fan at this point. And now that the highly anticipated solo debut “Thank Me Later” has dropped, the whole world is watching Aubrey Drake Graham wondering if he’s going to be the next big obsession.

“Thank Me Later” is no “So Far Gone”. It’s not mind-blowing but it keeps Drake’s fans in check. This time, Drake discards the indie pop remixes and opts for smoother, sellable R&B accompanied by his signature low-drop voice. And damn, does it make girls melt like a vanilla Sprite float in 35 degree heat.

Outstanding tracks include “Show Me a Good Time”, “All Night” featuring Nicki Minaj, “Light Up” featuring Jay-Z and the unexpected “Karaoke”. Drake teams up with Kanye, Timbaland, Boi-1da and Noah “40” Shebib among others such as broseph Lil Wayne – who should often be left out of sweet little ditties like “Miss Me”; the grimy lyrics “Man, I swear my bitches do it ‘til they suck the brown off”, and “When she masturbate to me, that’s how she learn every song” leave a gross feeling in my stomach every time.

As for Drake, he is definitely known for his questionable, hit-or-miss lyrics. He gloats about his fame in every track: “My 15 minutes started one hour ago”, and “I got money in these jeans so they fit me kinda snug” are just the beginning of it.

Yet Drake boasts confusion in regards to his fame at times with a touch of emotional transparency and self-analysis:

“Because all this shit is new to me / I’m learning to behave / and still spending every dollar they encourage me to save / but I’m good / I know that niggas would kill for this lifestyle…”

“The other day Alyssa told me that she miss the old me / which made me question when I went missing, and when I start treating my friends different”.

It’s true when you hear critics commenting on Drake’s “existential angst”, anxieties, disappointments and paranoia, but his intimacy is sugar-coated with the crooning that got him so famous in the first place. But all this rapping about fame makes me wonder how the fire caught on so quickly. Did it take only one mixtape to set it off? What is the recipe to Drake’s fame? Whether or not this album impresses audiences, Drake has the ability to put together music that keeps fans and critics wondering where he’s headed next. And although this album isn’t much of a journey, he’s got enough going on to craft up some new adventures. Just please, no more lyrics about being super-famous.

Posted by : Erin Pehlivan

One Response to “New Music Week (June 16th, 2010)”

  1. erin pea June 16, 2010 at 5:43 PM #

    Love it chyld. Please italicize the lyrics I quoted! just so it looks consistent. thanks baby.

Leave a Reply

