Cat Power Takes Charge On Her New LP

4 Oct

Cat Power’s Chan Marshall is looking to step up her game. According to a post on NME, she intends to play every instrument on her new LP. Cat Power played Matador’s 21st Birthday in Vegas last weekend, where she caught up with Rolling Stone and expressed that she wants to take charge on this record because “she feels disappointed in herself” for not getting involved as much on her previous releases.

“I’m working on a new album and I’m trying to play all the instruments myself,” Marshall declared.

“There’s an inspiration in being furious that you want to achieve your goals. I think I was inspired by being disappointed in myself that I’d just been holding the microphone and I was disappointed in myself that I hadn’t been playing an instrument,” she explained. “I think I wanted to prove to myself that I could try to create a relationship with it [playing an instrument] again and feel like I felt close to it. It’s definitely there and it’s a need [for me to play], but it hasn’t been around.”

The follow-up to 2008’s Jukebox does not have a release date yet, but 2011 would be our best guest. Chan Marshall, we look forward to your return.

Posted by : Max Mohenu

Leave a Reply

