Archive | November, 2010

New Teen Daze EP, Beach Dreams Drops Next Tuesday

23 Nov

Vancouver producer Teen Daze is gearing up to blow our minds once again with some new music. On November 30th; Teen Daze will release his new Ep, Beach Dreams. The four song Ep was recorded back in July in his apartment and is inspired by everyone’s favorite season, summertime. Considering how shitty the weather has been, a little summer nostalgia couldn’t hurt. Here is the track list :

1. Let’s Fall Asleep Together
2. Water
3. Cliff Jump Love Song
4. Beach Dreams

The first track off the Ep is the fuzzed out pop song, Let’s Fall Asleep Together. You can hear that below :



Teen Daze is planning to go on tour with Million Young starting December 1st in New Orleans. Go to his MySpace for all the dates.


Posted by : Max Mohenu


James Blake’s Debut LP Coming In February

22 Nov
It’s just been revealed via Anorak London that James Blake‘s self-titled debut album will be out on February 7th. With that kind of timing, do you think this means he’ll have a Toronto tour stop on Valentine’s Day ? Go to I Like Music to get some more details on what to expect on the record.
Posted by : Melissa Kim

Houses Cover Toro Y Moi, Debut New Track

22 Nov

Chicago ambient pop duo Houses have really been hustling since we last saw them at CMJ. They’ve just released their album, All Night, a few weeks ago and over the weekend a cover of the Toro Y Moi song, Talkmak surfaced on the internet(via Turntable Kitchen). Along with the gorgeous cover; the band released a new song for Matthew Hickey, who runs the blog Turntable Kitchen with his wife. Both songs can be found in our MP3 section.


Posted by : Max Mohenu

New Lykke Li Album, Wounded Rhymes

19 Nov

After months of speculation on the release of Lykke Li’s sophomore album, we now have full details on the record and what to expect. An interview with Lykke Li was posted on Pitchfork yesterday confirming the album title, track list, and street date. Wounded Rhymes is set to drop on March 1st via LL Recordings(Lykke Li’s label). The album is being produced by Bjorn Yttling of Peter, Bjorn & John. Lykke Li talks about the type of image her highly successful debut, Youth Novels gave critics, powerful women and more in this amazing interview. Great job P4K! Here is the track list :

01 Youth Knows No Pain
02 I Follow Rivers
03 Love Out of Lust
04 Unrequited Love
05 Get Some
06 Rich Kid Blues
07 Sadness Is a Blessing
08 I Know Places
09 Ladies Love
10 Jerome
11 Silent My Song

Lykke Li just released a video for the first single, Get Some. Watch it!


Posted by : Max Mohenu

Dirtbag Debut : Fujiya and Miyaga – 16 Shades Of Blue

19 Nov

With their forthcoming album, Ventriloquizzing on the way; Fujiya and Miyaga have released a super creepy video for the first single, 16 Shades Of Black and Blue. The video features actor Philip Zimmerman, a dummy, and a weirdo striptease. Pick your poison.

Ventriloquizzing drops in January via Full Time Hobby and Yep Roc.


Posted by : Max Mohenu

La Sera Album Artwork/Street Date For Debut LP Revealed

19 Nov

We reported last month that Katy Goodman from Vivian Girls is working on another new side project called La Sera. The Never Come Around 7” dropped on Tuesday and what you see above is the album artwork for her debut LP, which we now know drops on February 15th via Hardly Art. For those of you haven’t seen her amazing video for Never Come Around, you can watch it below :


Posted by : Max Mohenu

Warm Ghost Signs To Partisan Records

15 Nov

Warm Ghost are a band we’ve been keeping our eyes on for a while. The Brooklyn synth wave duo consist of Paul Duncan and Oliver Chapoy. After the release of their Ep, Claws Overhead; the band has signed with Partisan Records, where they will release an expanded version of Claws Overhead. The band is currently working on a full length LP, which will be released next year. We expect big things from this band. This is what Adam Willis from Bear In Heaven had to say in a press release :

“Cold Wave synths. David Sylvian-esque vocals. 10 second delay. This is Warm Ghost. Made up of our long time friends Paul Duncan and Oliver Chapoy. They just released a pretty much perfect EP, Claws Overheard on our favorite micro-label out of Atlanta called Geographic North, and we’ve already played it out. Paul has been putting out solo records for the last 10 years, and we all agree, this is his best effort yet. Most of us have played either on Paul’s records or in his live band over the years, and I gotta say, I wish I was in this one too. These songs just blend just about everything I like about music. Low frequencies, smart chord changes, minor scale drones, heartfelt lyrics, and infectious hooks. There’s certainly been a surge of synth-driven pop bubbling to the surface over the last year (um, dunno if you’ve noticed from our record, we love synths) but I think it’s Paul’s vocals that truly separates them from their peers… Paul’s vocal range is wide and able, and adding this super romantic warmth to a colder musical palette. Warm Ghost has played a handful of shows here in NYC over the last couple of months, and all signs point to big things for these guys. Dig it”.

Don’t worry Adam, we dig it.

Posted by : Max Mohenu